Male HQ

Young And Jobless

Guest guest

Reminds me of the Asian Financial Crisis back in 97. Back then, graduated with a diploma, and settled with a reasonable paying job around $1800. Too greedy, decided to further my studies overseas when the crisis hit, and when I returned couple years later armed with a bachelor degree with honors, the highest paying job I can secure then was only $1200.... Alamak! lan lan also must do.... Luckily, my job does give me decent exposure, and within 14 months, I was head hunted by one of the subsidary companies of Temasek Holdings which I serviced.

The morale of the story.... Any job also take... don't 'hang yourself up high high to sell'.... If you do a good job, people will notice!

Procrastination... The biggest mental vacation one can have.

Hi TTS, i totally get u!

I graduated during the SARS year. Damn, that was a shitty year... I went to interviews where 120 people trying to grab just 1 available position... It was a tough time... I only managed to get a contract position after more than 5 months of waiting after graduation. I also remembered my friends and i congratulating each other whenever one of us found a temp/contract job during that year and the rest of us exchanged glances of envy, jealousy and despair...

Koh Samui, I need u...

Hi TTS, i totally get u!

I graduated during the SARS year. Damn, that was a shitty year... I went to interviews where 120 people trying to grab just 1 available position... It was a tough time... I only managed to get a contract position after more than 5 months of waiting after graduation. I also remembered my friends and i congratulating each other whenever one of us found a temp/contract job during that year and the rest of us exchanged glances of envy, jealousy and despair...

u meant 2003? agree... took me a year to move to a job that was not paying below 1800sgd... and after 4 yrs of working i was still paid less than those fresh grad of 2007...